Additional states added to AB 1887 prohibited states

By Bobbi McCracken |
Riverside, CA –

Dear Colleagues,

The following five states have been added to the list of restricted travel using state funding sources ( The Accounting Office is working with ITS to get these states added to iTravel; in the meantime, please be sure to carefully review the FAU used to fund travel to these states. Please ensure this information is communicated to your travelers that frequently travel out of state.

  • July 1, 2021: Florida and Montana
  • July 8, 2021: West Virginia
  • July 29, 2021: Arkansas
  • August 1, 2021: North Dakota

The other states subject to California’s ban on state-funded and state-sponsored travel under AB1887:

  • Alabama
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas

UC’s most recent version of the FAQs are attached. Questions can be directed to


Bobbi McCracken

Associate Vice Chancellor and Controller

Business & Financial Services


Attachment: Frequently Asked Questions Regarding AB 1887 Requirements_July 2021